Fireworks

It’s still very early days in my online dating story but I’ve already learned some things about myself and have compiled a lot of unanswered questions. Here’s a selection:

Men don’t need to be tall to be attractive. Funny really is one of the sexiest qualities a man can have. Intellectual stimulation is essential for me.

I have always considered myself a bit of an intellectual snob but that’s not actually correct at all. I’m not looking for an educated man, I’m looking for someone who has passion, drive and is informed. The problem arises when their passion and drive is in a direction that’s completely opposite to mine. How can I possibly consider a man who doesn’t believe that I, as a woman should have complete bodily autonomy with respect to abortion? Is it even worth pursuing? I don’t have an answer to that one yet but I’ll keep you posted.

And what about the man with an imaginary friend in the sky? I consider myself a militant atheist and will not entertain the idea of a deity with a greater purpose who sits back and watches as we destroy ourselves and our Earth. Is this a deal-breaker? I honestly thought it was. I’m trying to look outside the box but to be perfectly honest, early indicators are not favourable.

I really don’t like having my picture taken. I still have a lot of insecurities to work through and I really need to get out of my comfort zone more often but chatting to and meeting strangers is helping, for now at least. Maybe someday I’ll be completely comfortable talking about myself, other than on to my imaginary online people of course!

Electricity is not negotiable. You can get along with someone, you can have a laugh, interesting conversations and enjoy each others company but if there’s no spark then it really is dead in the water. Can you generate a spark? I don’t know yet but I doubt it. Please, somebody prove me wrong. There’s a part of me that thinks I’m being naïve and a hopeless romantic in looking for a spark in my 30s but I’m going to continue searching. I want fireworks, I insist on it. I don’t want or need companionship without fireworks, am I expecting too much?

For those of you that have said, it’s great that I’m getting out there and having fun, let me tell you that dating in your 30s is not fun. It’s not like going shopping in Brown Thomas and bringing home something you just couldn’t leave behind. Sadly, it’s closer to trawling through the bargain bucket in Heaton’s looking for something you’d be willing to take home.

I will continue searching and filtering through the frogs for now but despite my stubbornness and competitiveness, I fear I may quit this particular project without a successful outcome.

Comments on: "Fireworks" (2)

  1. Militant Atheist should be your epitaph xox

  2. LOL! I certainly haven’t ruled it out Sharon!

Comments are closed.

