Just A Game

In many areas we’re told life is largely meritocratic, that we get what we deserve. If you want to be successful you must study hard and work hard to reap the rewards.

I’ve a tendency to adopt this same philosophy with every task I attempt, be it going back to college or a particular work project. I went into online dating, giving it the same 100% effort and ended up taking it a little too seriously. It’s in my nature to jump into things with both feet but this time I’m going to try to relax, this is not a race. There’s no deadline, and who knows I might meet some fun people along the way. Now I know I’ve said this before but I’ve found myself falling into the world of “far too serious” far too easily.

As I’ve mentioned before, so much of dating is dependent on luck. It’s frustrating to try something new and never know if you’ll be successful or not. Honestly, I haven’t a clue what I’m doing there, like everyone else I’m just winging it. What I do know is that I was allowing the game to stress me out. I need to begin taking it all a little less seriously, starting now.

I’ve only been doing this a few months, I’m sure the people I meet are at it longer, they may even be a little jaded by the process. I don’t want to get to that state, I want this to be fun and light and easy.

I’ll never get used to the men that seem to be happy to chat online forever without ever meeting but I’m going to try to lighten up and stop overthinking this. It is just a game after all, even if I don’t know most of the rules.

Yesterday I went online with this newer lighter attitude and honestly I had a blast and now my week is looking very busy indeed. Go Me!

